Racing Board

The Illinois Racing Board (IRB) was established under the Illinois Horse Racing Act (230 ILCS 5) of 1975 to regulate the horse racing industry. The legislative intent of the Act is: a) to assist economic development and to promote Illinois tourism; b) to support and enhance Illinois’ horse racing industry as a component within the agribusiness industry; c) to ensure that Illinois’ horse racing industry remains competitive with neighboring states; d) to stimulate growth within Illinois’ horse racing industry, thereby encouraging new investment and development, produce additional tax revenues, and to create additional jobs; e) to encourage the breeding of thoroughbred and standardbred horses in the State; and f) to ensure public confidence and trust in the credibility and integrity of racing operations and that the regulatory process is maintained. The IRB currently regulates the horse racing industry and pari-mutuel wagering at three (3) racetracks (Arlington Park, Hawthorne Race Course and Fairmount Park) as well as twenty-two (22) associated off-track betting facilities, three (3) intertrack wagering locations, and five (5) advanced deposit wagering (“ADW”) platforms (e.g. Internet based wagering), the Brown County Fair, the Illinois State Fair and the DuQuoin State Fair. The Illinois Racing Board consists of eleven members appointed to six-year terms by the Governor with the advice and consent of the Senate. The Board is responsible for enforcement of the statute governing horse racing in Illinois known as the Illinois Horse Racing Act. Currently there are two vacancies.